top of page
  • emmanuellegammage

My favourite things I've watched this year

If you know me personally, you'll know I'm a huge movie lover: when I was at university I went to the cinema pretty much once a week. It might sound lame but I really enjoy the process of becoming attached to characters and the escapism of living another life for a moment.


Little Women


As soon as this movie finished in the cinema, I knew it would remain my favourite of 2020 (it was out December 26th 2019 so I'm classing it as this year). It follows the lives of four sisters called Meg, Jo, Beth and Amy, all of whom are completely different in personality and their aspirations.

I could relate with each sister individually and they inspired me to become the best parts of themselves. I felt whole afterwards, like I had learnt something new and had found a new goal. Who was your favourite character? Mine was Amy.


Jojo Rabbit


This movie is about Jojo and his imaginary friend, Hitler. Jojo is part of the Hitler youth and he's blinded by nationalism and everything he has learnt in Nazi Germany but as the story follows, we see him face a moral dilemma when his mother hides a Jewish girl in the attic. Truly fantastic acting, especially on Scarlett Johansson's part: I'm not usually a fan of her but she was amazing. Despite the heavy topic, it's actually light watching.



The Peanut Butter Falcon


Ok guys, don't write it off when I tell you the basic story line because this is a beautiful movie. Zack who has Down syndrome escapes from an assisted living facility to pursue his dream of becoming a pro wrestler. He meets Tyler (Shia Labeouf) at the beginning of his journey who is also running away. It's truly heart-warming and I could watch it over and over again.


The Personal History of David Copperfield


I went on a spontaneous cinema trip with Saffron to see this, I had no idea what it was about so I had no expectations. Based on the book by Charles Dickens, it follows the character of David Copperfield (Dev Patel) from childhood to adulthood throughout the highs and lows. It's full of energy, colour and has an element of fantasy with many familiar faces.


The Gentleman


Guy Ritchie is my favourite director and since Max is a video producer, I've learnt to appreciate the art of film making. The Gentleman is an action comedy with a lottttt of famous faces in - Charlie Hunnam (have I sold it to you yet?), Matthew McConaughey, Hugh Grant, Henry Golding etc! It's pretty complicated but essentially, McConaughey is a rich marijuana businessman looking to sell up which attracts the wrong sort of attention. It's a lengthy film but you'll be captivated from start to finish trying to keep up and stay ahead of the game.


The Trial of the Chicago 7


I watched this last night and I'm not over it yet. It's based on the 1969 trial of seven activists accused of conspiracy and rioting. It was truly fascinating! I felt all kinds of emotions throughout it - it really rials you up and I got very emotional. It especially hits home that the political situation in the 60s is practically a reflection of what it's like in 2020. Definitely worth a watch - educational and entertaining because the acting is amazing.



What's your favourite movie of 2020 so far?

 

Emmanuelle x


186 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page